Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Bolt Thrower - Realm of Chaos

'Realm of Chaos'
Bolt Thrower
Review by Elek Malcolm-Madill

Genre/s: Death Metal, Grindcore
For Fans Of: Benediction, Autopsy, Napalm Death

England's Bolt Thrower are an interesting death metal band, for starters their name comes from a weapon used in the fantasy roleplaying game Warhammer. Beyond that, the company that created the game, Games Workshop, approached the band and asked them to make an album for them about Warhammer 40K- another, more science fiction oriented, series in the Warhammer franchise. When I first heard this I thought it was so bizarre that I HAD to check it out, and I am so glad I did. Opening with an eery, mechanical force declaring "On countless worlds, the Earth shakes- as the forces of chaos try to gain control... there is no time for peace... only the eternal...WAR" you're hit with an explosion of noise with guitars ripping at you like bullets and drums like the constant booming of artillery shelling in the distance- at least this is definitely the effect that Realm of Chaos tries (and succeeds) to give you with it's ultimate themes being war and chaos. From track one you're assaulted non-stop until it feels like there is absolutely nothing left to go on with, and the outro carries the album away with a deathlike silence contrasted by machinery quietly clanging away in the background. An absolute classic of death metal, Bolt Thrower's "Realm of Chaos" is sure to please.

1. Intro
2. Eternal War
3.Through the Eye of Terror
4. Dark Millenium
5. All That Remains
6. Lost Souls Domain
7. Plague Bearer
8. World Eater
9. Drowned in Torment
10. Realm of Chaos
11. Prophet of Hatred
12. Outro

1 comment:

  1. Jedynie co mi się na tym blogu nie podoba to te czarne tło.