Sunday, 13 July 2014

Fejhed - Self Titled


Review by Brayden Bagnall

Genre/s: Power Electronics, Industrial
For Fans Of: Puce Mary, Damien Dubrovnik, Cremation Lily, Pharmakon, Hvide Sejl

Fejhed is the collaboration between Frederikke Hoffmeier (Puce Mary) and Jesse Sanes (Hoax) - and while that may be exciting, wait until you hear this thing.
Fejhed utilises a quieter, more restrained approach to power electronics, that is heavy on atmosphere and tonality. Primarily synthesizer driven, Fejhed boasts beautiful sub bass rumblings, minimal sampling and eerie background ambiance courtesy of Hoffmeier, whileSanes provides the vocals, both harsh and spoken, which are pleasantly buried in the mix.
There's a particular ebb and flow to this tape - a very deliberate use of more muffled tones and volume surges, and much like the loops of a boat rocking in the water on Haunt, Fejhed sways back and forth between intense industrial/power electronics and soft ambient sections.
If you've been keeping up with the exciting Posh Isolation noise scene, and its numerous offshoots and contemporaries, then you'll be enthralled with this release. I can't say the same for Hoax fans though.

1. Intro
2. The Edge
3. Haunt
4. Drinking Spit
5. Hydrophobia
6. Sorry
7. Transatlantic
8. Haunt II
9. Silence


No comments:

Post a Comment