Tuesday 23 July 2013

Coughs - Fright Makes Right

'Fright Makes Right'

Genre: Noise Rock, No Wave, Experimental
For Fans Of: Boredoms, Happy Flowers, Melt Banana, Teenage Jesus And The Jerks

Not to be confused with the doom metal band (Cough), Coughs bring a very different brand of musical nihilism. Atonal is a word that comes to mind, but it truly doesn't do the band justice. Frontwoman Anya Davidson's scary, schizophrenic vocals (thinks screams, off key singing and spoken word) lead the aural assault, a barrage of noise achieved by a range of instruments including saxophones, oil drums, keyboards and sheet metal. If scary, rhythmic and tribal noise rock via 70s new wave sounds like your kinda thing, give this a shot.

1. Intro
2. Animal Hospital
3. Come Back To Me
4. Elephant
5. Elimidate
6. Fright Makes Right
7. Garter Snake
8.  Give Peace A Chance
9. Homeland
10. I'm Just A Bill
11. Mail Order
12. Narwhal
13. Penal Colony
14. Photo Safari
15. Starchitect
16. Stars And Stripes And Whatever

Penal Colony

1 comment:

  1. Great blog, I have discovered so much amazing music through its posts. If possible could the link for this one be refreshed.